Auvillar


The magnificent city of Auvillar, between Toulouse and Bordeaux, overlooking the Garonne valley in the south-west of France, is one of the most beautiful villages in France, a tourist and artistic center of the Occitan region. It is also a stopover on the roads of Saint Jacques de Compostela. A very famous and comfortable communal holiday cottage offers 16 beds for pilgrims.

Services :
A hotel, guest houses and cottages. Many possibilities of lodging are thus offered, and also places to restore you (5 restaurants), as well as a service of snacks. The city has all the necessary shops: grocery store, bakery, hairdresser, pharmacy, but also dentists, a doctor, not to mention the Sunday morning farmer’s market.

Arts:
Auvillar has 3 art galleries: Artkads (paintings, sculptures), Bleu Réglisse with Toutain works in red thread (paintings, sculptures, snacks, drinks) and Espace 213-Auvill’Art (paintings, wood carvings and boutique candles, coffee and tea).

Tourism :
After centuries of history, Auvillar lost its castle and its walls, but remains today a very dynamic village, which is pleasantly visited, in its beautiful renovated lanes. The events are numerous from spring to autumn and finally, the museum hosts an extraordinary collection of earthenware dating from the eighteenth century for the oldest, and were manufactured in Auvillar from 1739 to 1909. The Friends of Old Auvillar organize tours commented on the village and museums (05.63.39.89.82).
https://auvillar.museum

Monuments:
The clock tower, monumental door of the XVIIth century allows a unique access to the historical center of the village. It nowadays hosts the museum of the shipping.
The triangular square, lined with rich brick and stone houses of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, testifies to the prestigious past of the merchant city, forming a real jewel for the circular grain market, whose Tuscan columns give an elegance and a unique cachet to this classified monument which houses the Sunday morning farmer’s market.
Stroll in the cobbled streets to discover the half-timbered and corbelling houses, the Consuls’ Palace, the laundry and of course, the unmistakable viewpoint over the Garonne valley and the Quercy slopes located on the Place du Château.
Saint Pierre church, one of the largest in the Tarn-et-Garonne, is decorated with an exceptional baroque altarpiece (currently in restoration). The parvis, recently renovated, allows to appreciate the splendor of the west facade of the monument.
The ancient path of Peyrat, section of the path Podiensis that leads to Saint Jacques de Compostela, is a link between the village and its port located below, along the river Garonne.
The boatmen’s houses face the watercourse and rub shoulders with the Sainte Catherine chapel, patron saint of the sailors, rebuilt in the 14th century on the orders of Pope Clement V.
This historic site, of Carolingian origin, has just been renovated under the aegis of the buildings of France.
A walk is necessary on the quays, witnesses of the intense activity of this port from which were shipped the famous earthenware auvillaraises with the decoration and the solidity appreciated (rich collection to see with the museum of the Friends of Old Auvillar) as well as the quality goose feathers for calligraphy.

La magnifique cité d’Auvillar, entre Toulouse et Bordeaux, dominant la vallée de la Garonne dans le sud-ouest de la France, est l’un des plus beaux villages de France, haut lieu touristique et artistique de la région Occitanie. C’est aussi une halte incontournable sur les chemins de Saint Jacques de Compostelle. Un gîte d’étape communal très réputé et confortable propose 16 couchages pour les pèlerins.

Services :
Un hôtel, chambres d’hôtes et gîtes de particuliers. De nombreuses possibilités d’hébergement sont donc offertes, et aussi des endroits pour vous restaurer (5 restaurants), ainsi qu’un service de petite restauration. La cité possède tous les commerces nécessaires : épicerie, boulangerie, salon de coiffure, pharmacie, mais aussi des dentistes, un médecin, sans oublier le marché fermier du dimanche matin.

Arts :
Auvillar possède 3 galeries d’art : Artkads (peintures, sculptures), Bleu Réglisse avec des œuvres de Toutain en fil rouge (peintures, sculptures, petite restauration, boissons) et Espace 213-Auvill’Art (peintures, sculptures sur bois et boutique de bougies, café et thé).

Tourisme :
Après des siècles d’histoire, Auvillar a perdu son château et ses murailles, mais demeure aujourd’hui un village très dynamique, qui se visite agréablement, dans ses belles ruelles rénovées. Les manifestations sont nombreuses du printemps à l’automne et enfin, le musée accueille une collection extraordinaire de faïences datant du XVIIIème siècle pour les plus anciennes, et qui ont été fabriquées à Auvillar de 1739 à 1909. Les Amis du Vieil Auvillar organisent des visites commentées du village et des musées (05.63.39.89.82).

Monuments :
La tour de l’horloge, porte monumentale du XVIIème permet un accès unique au centre historique du village. Elle accueille de nos jours le musée de la batellerie.
La place triangulaire, bordée de riches demeures en brique et pierre des XVIIème et XVIIIème témoignage du passé prestigieux de la cité marchande, forme un véritable écrin pour la halle aux grains, circulaire, dont les colonnes toscanes confèrent une élégance et un cachet unique à ce monument classé qui abrite le marché fermier du dimanche matin.
Flâner dans les ruelles pavées pour découvrir les maisons à colombage et encorbellement, le palais des Consuls, le lavoir et bien sûr, l’immanquable point de vue sur la vallée de la Garonne et les coteaux du Quercy situé place du château.
L’église Saint Pierre, une des plus vaste du Tarn-et-Garonne, est ornée d’un retable baroque exceptionnel (actuellement en restauration). Le parvis, récemment rénové, permet d’apprécier la splendeur de la façade ouest du monument.
Le chemin antique du Peyrat, tronçon de la voie Podiensis qui mène à Saint Jacques de Compostelle, est un trait d’union entre le village et son port situé en contrebas, le long du fleuve Garonne.
Les maisons de bateliers font face au cours d’eau et côtoient la chapelle Sainte Catherine, patronne des marins, reconstruite au XIVème sur les ordres du Pape Clément V.
Ce haut lieu historique, d’origine carolingienne, vient d’être rénové sous l’égide des bâtiments de France.
Une promenade s’impose sur les quais, témoins de l’activité intense de ce port à partir duquel étaient expédiés les fameuses faïences auvillaraises au décor et à la solidité appréciés (riche collection à voir au musée des Amis du Vieil Auvillar) ainsi que les plumes d’oies de qualité pour la calligraphie.

Les loisirsvisites alentoursautour de l’eaule canal et la voie verte à vélosport
Les festivités auvillaraisesles offices de tourismecommerces/entreprises/santé
Art et culture –

Site web de la mairie, avec tous les restaurants, commerces, artisans, etc : www.auvillar.fr
Site communautaire : histoire, musée, la faïence, les arts auvillarais, etc : www.auvillar.com